Ten Below Zero →

ten below zeroRating: 4.5 Cups of Coffee

Goodreads’ Book Description:
“In here,” he said, pushing on the skin above my heart, “you’re ten below zero. And you’re closer to death than I am.”

My name is Parker. My body is marked with scars from an attack I don’t remember. I don’t want to remember. I choose to live my life by observation, not through experience. While PEOPLE are laughing and kissing and connecting, I’m in the corner. Watching them live. I’m indifferent to everything, everyone. The only emotion I feel with any kind of depth is annoyance, and I feel it often.

A text message sent to the wrong number proves to be my undoing.

His name is Everett, but I call him rude. He’s pushy, he’s arrogant, he crowds my personal space, and worst of all: he makes me feel.

He chooses to wear all black, all the time, as if he’s waiting to attend a funeral. Probably because he is.

Everett is dying. And he’s spending his final days living, truly living. In doing so, he’s forcing me to feel, to heal. To come face to face with the demons I suppressed in my memory.

He hurts me, he fulfills me, he completes me. And still, he’s dying.

Natasha’s Experience:

So much to discuss, not enough review space to write it all in. I’d rather not make this review/experience a novel, for your benefit.

I’ll be honest and say that I wasn’t much of a fan of Parker starting this book. She got on my nerves a lot more than I wanted her to and just annoyed me. Then there was Everett, this really mysterious character who never claimed to be anything else but rude and acted like too much of an asshole for me to really consider even befriending/liking.

So it’s safe to say I was worried with how I would take in this story. I’m SO happy I stuck with it. Like insanely happy. WAY too happy.

Before I continue, I need to share with you all some of my favorite quotes from the book because Whitney Barbetti is incredible at writing them, and writing in general. God bless her talent.

  • His voice was like his drink: smooth, warm like whiskey. I could get drunk off his words.
  • “You are wasting your life,” he whispered. “Why did you fight so hard to live so little?”
  • “Just because you say things that are true, it doesn’t make you an admirable person. Some people need to hear a lie.”
  • “How do you expect to understand anything if you don’t take a step out of your comfort zone, if you don’t embrace the scary?”
  • “Don’t get me wrong, I want to help you. But I also want to hurt you. I want to break you. I want to see you live.”

I’ll stop there seeing as I highlighted way more than I realized and I’d rather you read the book yourself to find your own personal favorites 😉

This story started off slow for me and was at a plateau for longer than I wanted, but I’m almost grateful for that gentle start. I was completely thrown when I got to the deep end. Whitney Barbetti wants –needs—you to feel when reading, and I think I felt too much.

I can’t even tell you exactly when I became so invested in Parker and Everett, but it was so unexpected that I was overwhelmed when everything started hitting me at once. I genuinely felt the pain that Parker was going through; the anguish of being torn between wanting to stay numb and wanting to drown herself in everything that Everett was.

One second I was reading a pretty intense and emotional scene and the next I had tears streaming down my face— tears that I didn’t even know were coming until I was wiping them away in order to continue reading.

I loved the unexpectedness that was this story, completely reveled in it. This whole book really turned me inside out, gutted me, and made me feel alive. (Definitely getting emotional right now just remembering random scenes, oops.)

This entire book was a sweet-as-hell moment for me and I hope you experience it, too.

Add TEN BELOW ZERO to your TBR list on Goodreads and one-click this book the second it comes out on August 28. I promise you will not regret it.

P.S. This ended up being my longest review/experience, sorry not sorry 😉

P.P.S I’m so in love with the cover, it’s beautiful.

3 thoughts on “Ten Below Zero →

  1. Pingback: KINDLE BOOKS ON EDIGZ

  2. Pingback: Happy Early Release to TEN BELOW ZERO → | Book Baristas

  3. Pingback: Favorite Reads from 2014 → | Book Baristas

Leave a Reply

