Eyes Turned Skyward →

neweyesturnedskywardRating: 5 Cups of Coffee

Goodreads’ Book Description:
Since her sister’s death, twenty-year-old Paisley Donovan, who shares her sister’s heart condition, is treated like delicate glass by her parents. But nothing will stop her from completing her Bucket List—even if it kills her. And it almost does, until Jagger Bateman pulls her from the ocean and breathes more than air into her lungs—he sets her soul on fire.

Jagger is enrolled in the country’s toughest flight school. He’s wickedly hot, reckless, and perfect for a girl looking to live life to the fullest. Except that Paisley is the commanding general’s daughter, and her boyfriend is Jagger’s biggest rival. Now Paisley must decide just how much to risk for a guy who makes her heart pound a little too hard.

They’re flying through dangerous territory—and one wrong move could make them crash and burn…

Natasha’s Experience:
Be still my beating heart.

First and foremost, Rebecca Yarros is incredible. She is a magical human being with the ability to completely captivate me with her words. I first fell in love with her writing after reading her debut, FULL MEASURES. Damn, that book still gives me chills.

Now this? Yarros did not disappoint. She’s now a part of my favorite one-click authors.
Okay, now that I’ve professed my love for Rebecca Yarros, let’s get on with this book.

EYES TURNED SKYWARD was everything I look for in a New Adult read.

Seriously, Jagger Bateman? Not cool. My standards are unreachable after meeting and falling in love with Jagger Bateman. How can I describe my love for him? He was hilarious, loyal, a great friend, and just everything I wanted him to be. He’s training to be a pilot, he’s an athlete, has a uniform, tattoos…what else do you need? And the things he says…Oh god, he owns me.

Exhibit A:
“I loved her like the tide loved the moon, vital to sustain the life within.”

I’m a mess. My heart is yours, Jagger.

Exhibit B:
“She’d become my gravity, holding me to the earth by her sheer existence.”

Okay, enough of this. I’m swooning too hard over here.

PAISLEY. Little Bird. One of my favorite heroines, EVER.
She’s got so much spunk and life and all she wants to do is complete her bucket list without hurting anyone in the process. I loved her selflessness and her character. She’s quirky and fun and such a southern belle.  She surprised me a couple of times with her honesty and I loved that. She was so well-rounded and inspiring. I’m gushing over her, oops.

Paisley and Jagger…together? They were on fire and burned together beautifully.

Okay, I really loved this book and this story and you should definitely take the time to fall in love with these characters. This book is worth it, I promise.

Links: Amazon | Kobo

While you’re at it, look into getting FULL MEASURES because it’s one of my favorite reads this year.

Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Keep up with Rebecca Yarros: Facebook | Twitter | Website

One thought on “Eyes Turned Skyward →

  1. Pingback: Favorite Reads from 2014 → | Book Baristas

Leave a Reply

