I Am Pilgrim →

iampilgrimcoerRating: 5 Cups of Coffee

Goodreads’ Book Description:
Can you commit the perfect crime?

Pilgrim is the codename for a man who doesn’t exist. The adopted son of a wealthy American family, he once headed up a secret espionage unit for US intelligence. Before he disappeared into anonymous retirement, he wrote the definitive book on forensic criminal investigation.

But that book will come back to haunt him. It will help NYPD detective Ben Bradley track him down. And it will take him to a rundown New York hotel room where the body of a woman is found facedown in a bath of acid, her features erased, her teeth missing, her fingerprints gone. It is a textbook murder – and Pilgrim wrote the book.

What begins as an unusual and challenging investigation will become a terrifying race-against-time to save America from oblivion. Pilgrim will have to make a journey from a public beheading in Mecca to a deserted ruins on the Turkish coast via a Nazi death camp in Alsace and the barren wilderness of the Hindu Kush in search of the faceless man who would commit an appalling act of mass murder in the name of his God.

Natasha’s Experience:
If I had to choose five words to  describe this book, they would be: riveting, gruesome, thrilling, suspenseful, raw.
I AM PILGRIM is one of the greatest books I have read to date. It is completely out of my normal reading genre and I was so captivated by it. In addition to being a suspenseful read, I found the story to be really educational when it came to other cultures and religions.

Terry Hayes created these characters who are extremely loyal and courageous; it was hard to remember that they were fictional beings.  I found myself completely in awe of Pilgrim; he was braver than any character I have ever read about.

There were many secondary characters, making it hard to keep up sometimes, but each of them added depth to the story and contributed more than just a body with dialogue.

if youwant

This book was meticulously detailed, filled with so many amazing anecdotes told within the story. It was brilliantly written; Hayes did not sugar coat anything. Some parts were hard to stomach because it felt so real.

This was amazing work from Terry Hayes, I don’t doubt his talent. The story was so intricate; it’s hard to think it was a debut.

Honestly, I can’t say this enough: I AM PILGRIM is one of the best books I’ve ever read that had stories that bled into other stories, each of them coming together to form the bigger picture. Being a psych major, I kept thinking back on the Gestalt theory. If you’re unfamiliar with this type of psychology, Wikipedia states that “Gestalt psychology tries to understand the laws of our ability to acquire and maintain meaningful perceptions in an apparently chaotic world.” This really rounds up what reading I AM PILGRIM felt like to me: bringing together multiple stories and ideas to form this incredible plot line that is flawlessly executed.

If you think you know what’s going on, you have no idea. Pick up this book.

Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Audible | Kobo

Giveaway: Two winners will receive (1) paperback of I AM PILGRIM

One thought on “I Am Pilgrim →

  1. Pingback: Favorite Reads from 2014 → | Book Baristas

Leave a Reply

