Volition →

Volition Amazon (1)Rating: 5 Cups of Coffee

Goodreads’ Book Description:
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being?

It’s because you’re contradicting the universe.

Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work out better, but then you have to go and do everything humanly possible to ruin it because you can’t stand to have it go right?

That’s what I did.

I did it because there’s a darkness that surrounds me, and I think I want it there.

My name is Tate McKenna, and my soul is blacker than my heart.

Natasha’s Experience:
This book was a privilege to have read.

If you plan on immersing yourself in Volition with high hopes of really enjoying the story, you need to go in with an open mind. Remember that perception is everything. In addition to having an open mind, I would highly recommend you read the foreword, seeing as it is vital to understanding everything that Volition stands for.

That being said, I wholeheartedly recommend this story to anyone willing to reflect on everything that they think they know about themselves.

Everyone has a dark side to their persona. Tate McKenna is the dark side. She is completely enveloped by her darkness and does not mind dwelling in it. She’s not the normal, likeable heroine present in a lot of books today. She embodies everything that people like to ignore about themselves.

Tate is selfish, spiteful, and vengeful. But at her core, Tate is hurting. She is roaming around, confused with herself and desperately seeking for more than what she is given.

I feel like the main reason behind all of Tate’s characteristics is that she is entirely in tune with her soul. More so than any other character I have ever read about.

“My body is fine. It’s my soul that aches. It’s always been my soul.”

I empathized a lot with Tate because I could easily see a lot of myself in her. She was honest and real from the beginning, even if her honesty was cruel and her reality was tough to accept.

volition1

“Absence doesn’t make the heart grow fonder. It makes you forget.”

There is a reason you go into this book knowing next to nothing about the story. I won’t be the one to tell you much about the insides of the story, so I apologize for this lack of a book description. I can’t take that away from you, especially if you do find yourself wanting to read this book.

I will tell you that this book is a work of art. It is something to be appreciated. It voices a lot of ideas that not many people want to think about. That’s why I loved it. It humbles you.

Something I want to bring to the reader’s attention is that books don’t belong to us. They belong entirely to the writer. The words, the story, the ideas, they are the writer’s to claim. What we take out of the story, that is what we get to keep. I feel like people forget to respect that aspect of reading. Authors don’t owe us anything.

I live by three important R’s: Read, respect, and review.

I will end on this note: Volition gave me a lot more than just a story. It was a learning experience about myself. I hope I never stop reading books like this; books that leave you feeling more insightful than you were before you started.

Links: Amazon US | Signed Paperbacks

Join Lily’s Mailing Lists: Street Team | Release Date Only
Keep Up with Lily Paradis: Tumblr | Twitter | Goodreads Author Page | Instagram | Facebook | Tsu

Find more information about Volition, Ignite, and Lily’s other upcoming releases
at www.lilyparadis.com.

***Reading Playlist***

This is the kind of book that reads even better with an accompanying playlist. I thought these songs fit the story really well, almost perfectly at times. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

3 thoughts on “Volition →

Leave a Reply

